School Profile

11161 E. Old Highway 64 
Lexington, NC 27292 
Phone: (336) 472-1576 
Fax: (336) 472-3250
School Colors: 
Blue and Silver
School Hours: 
8:00 am - 2:38 pm
Number of Students: 
Approximately 264

Art, Music, PE

Total Number of Staff: 
Licensed: 33
Non-Licensed: 25


After School Care: 
Our school does not offer on campus after school care. 

Transportation to and from school will be discussed with parents/guardians at the time of enrollment. 

North Carolina Standard Course of Study determines curriculum in all schools and in all subjects. The appropriate curriculum is used throughout the state in each grade level and in each subject area, thus offering a uniform curriculum for all of North Carolina's students. It is upon that standard curriculum that all statewide testing is based. Teachers use their professional skills, unique creativity, and varied resources to teach the myriad of concepts required in the Standard Course of Study. 

Testing Program: 
Our school follows the testing schedule established by our local district and the North Carolina State Department of Public Instruction. Please click on the testing button on our district's home page. 

Academically Gifted: 
Students are identified in the third grade and may receive resource assistance in the fourth and fifth grades if they meet state and local standards. 

Business/Education Partnerships: 
Our school has several partnerships that provide volunteers to our school, mini-grants for teachers, materials for classrooms and support for our academic programs. Business people interested in forming a partnership with our school should contact our principal. 

Parental Involvement: 
Our school encourages parents to take an active role in their children's education. Parent volunteers assist teachers at each grade level and many volunteer to help on school-wide projects. We also have a very active PTO. The PTO Council consists of:
President - Lindsay Cisneros
Vice President -
Secretary -
Treasurer -
Teacher Rep. -
Principal - Christy Slate
School Advisory Council:
Our School Advisory Council is composed of seven members appointed by the Davidson County Board of Education. It serves our school in an Advisory capacity and is a liaison between the Board of Education and our community. They are Jason Benfield, Farrah Cox, Amy Stone, and Christy Slate. 
School Improvement Team: 
This team is comprised of school staff members and parents who set school goals and closely monitor school operations. The members are: , Amanda Sullivan, Kim Shillinglaw, Jatana Jernigan, Shannon James, Melanie Younts, Tammy Shelton, Katie Burton, Leah Baker, Jill Lyda, Christy Slate, and Farrah Cox.
How to Enroll: 
Parent or Guardian with legal custody of prospective students should contact the school office or come by to receive a packet of enrollment information. The Davidson County School System does not enroll out of district students, even on a tuition basis.
Items needed to Enroll:
Two proofs of residency such as electricity bill, cable bill, water bill, etc., child's birth certificate, child's social security card, and parent's driver's license.